Darwin Mach

Online Privacy

Stolen Facebook Accounts

by Darwin Mach on Apr.26, 2010, under IT Security, News, Online Privacy

You remember about all those scams I was posting about? (Then stopped posting about since I got lazy).

Now there’s a new discovery: A Russian hacker who says he’s in New Zealand is selling the username & passwords of Facebook accounts ranging from $35 to $65, depending on how many friends each account has. He claims he has 1.5 million account credentials, 700,000 of which has already been sold.

Here’s the link to the article’s source: http://www.nzherald.co.nz/connect/news/article.cfm?c_id=1501833&objectid=10640757.

Again, please be very careful when you are using Facebook!

Leave a Comment :, , , , more...

Another Facebook Scam

by Darwin Mach on Jan.02, 2010, under IT Security, Online Privacy

Well you know about the previous Dell Facebook scam? (http://darwin-mach.net/blog/2009/12/10/dell-promotion-facebook-scam/) This one’s worse, but uses the exact same code, which does the exact same thing.

The theme now is that it claims to install “Profile Spy”, to help you see who’s looking at your profile, etc, but THERE IS NO SUCH THING. There’s only a few apps that really do this, but it requires your visitors also install the app, for the sake of their own privacy.

So… about 900,000 people have joined the Facebook group as of writing, and I reported it to Facebook again. We’ll see how long it takes them.

Here’s the link to the most recent scam – http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=209645259791 (you have to click on the “read more” link).

There was also another previous one before this one, but after the Dell one, involving “Crimson Labs” and a giveaway of iMacs.

Please! READ EVERYTHING CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU SAY YES. If anything looks suspicious or doesn’t make sense, well… :)

1 Comment :, , more...

Dell “Promotion” Facebook Scam

by Darwin Mach on Dec.10, 2009, under IT Security, Online Privacy

Hi all,

I just wanted to alert you on a new scam that is going around on Facebook. It comes in the form of an invite to a group called “Dell Laptop Giveaway (1 in 2 people win one Laptop)” at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=355563360211

BEWARE! The instructions stated actually collects your entire friends list and spams them with this invite and in no way enters you into any sweepstakes. This is another classic example of a deal too good to be true. As of writing this post, about 47000 people have joined the group and likely fell for this trick.

Resolution: IGNORE the invite and help spread the word about it. Do NOT do what the instructions tell you to do.

EDIT (11:53 EST): Looks like Facebook took down that rather quickly after I reported it. But still a lesson to be learned about carefully reading what you see.

(continue reading…)

3 Comments :, , more...

Get Adobe Flash playerPlugin by wpburn.com wordpress themes

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Blogroll

A few highly recommended websites...